Bad Days| finding comfort

A Bad day. For me, it’s when I feel down. Today was a bad day. I felt like the world was out to get me and like no one was on my side. I would begin to take simple situations and blow them out of proportion, causing me to burden my self with my over-analytic tales. Bad days are also the days where I begin to question life choices and decisions. Sometimes this can be such a dangerous time because I am the cause of my own emotional destruction. Everyone has bad days, without them we wouldn’t be human. These are 5 techniques and types of mindsets that I try to use when I wake up feeling down and unmotivated for the day:

It’s all in your mind: It’s really important to keep reminding yourself that the world is not against you and that today is just going to be one-of-those-days. I always try to take as many deep breathes as I can before getting out and ready for the day. I also think it’s important to tell yourself that this is normal and happens to everyone and, also, that you are not in it alone.

Talk to someone or write it out: A lot of the time I try to keep to myself and hide under a rock on these days, but it’s really important to get those negative thoughts and sad feeling out of your system. For some people writing in a journal is therapeutic, for others it is talking to someone you trust about these feelings. For me, sometimes writing helps, but more times than not I find myself calling my mom. Having someone else’s opinion and perspective on your feelings can change your way of thought and even make the day better. Someone can also help when the over-analytical wheels start churning, which brings me to my next tip…

Don’t over-analyze it: You will only dig yourself into a deeper pit of despair if you continue to rethink and analyze situations or conversations. Sometimes it’s good to consult a third person about what happened and they will give you an objective perspective allowing you to crawl out of that pit. Over-analysis can make your day worse, so try to stay away from getting those wheels churning.

Be comfortable: I find that when I am having a bad day, I want to feel safe and be in my comfort zone. I will always wear something I am comfortable and confident it, and I will try to keep my normal routine so that I can still do the things that make me happy.

Relax and make room for “me-time”: On my bad day, I just do the errands and things that must be done for that day and I leave the rest of the day and evening for myself. It really helps if you just take time for yourself and not have to worry about anything than your well-being. Whether working, schooling, or parenting, the focus is never on you. Making time for “me-time” will help by rejuvenating yourself and will take your mind off of everything thats bothering you. For me, my realistic “me-time”s includes taking a bath or a hot shower and sitting with some tea to watch a movie or TV show: the important thing is to do things that you want to do in that moment. Even if your friends say that getting out will be good, if you are not up to it, don’t do it.

Those are the 5 main things I try to keep constant in my life, especially when I am having a bad day. I hope this was able to help you or someone in your life who has their fair share of bad days. It is crazy how stuck we can get in the workings of our own brain. So, next time when you have a bad day, try to incorporate things that are familiar and things that make you happy. It changed my perspective on bad days. If, today is your bad day, I am with you there. Time to relax and unwind for the rest of the day.

“Take a shower, wash off the day. Drink a glass of water. Make the room dark. Lie down and close your eyes. Notice the silence. Notice your heart. Still beating. Still fighting. You made it, after all. You made it, another day. And you can make it one more. You’re doing just fine.”

         – Charolette Eriksson

All the Best,

G

xx

Leave a Reply

