Soul Fruit | April 2017

The first wealth is health.      – Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hello, Everyone!!

Spring Break is over and the first 2 weeks back were tough. Having only 2 more weeks left of academic class is exciting and stressful all at once. However, I am keeping up with my work and making good use of my planner 🙂

<<<If you are feeling overwhelmed check out an old blog post of mine to see how to make the most out of your planner = “How to be organized | January 2017” >>>

All school life aside, I have found a holy grail fruit, my soul fruit: the grapefruit. When I was younger, I never was a fan of grapefruit, but now it is my go-to fruit.

FullSizeRender 3

I was browsing the produce section of Sprouts Farmers Market grocery store and was intrigued by the grapefruit bin. To be honest, I was just curious as to whether I liked them or not so I picked up two grapefruits. I started by eating a half of a grapefruit a day for a week, and not only did I realize that my former child tastebuds were rubbish, and that grapefruits are amazing, but I also realized that it had many other health benefits.

There are four pretty amazing benefits to grapefruits that I will mention, but this first one is HUGE, at least for me it was a little life-changing (not to be over-dramatic).

  • The first benefit is helping with indigestion. Now, if you are like me and have more dietary sensitivities than you can name, stomach irritation is pretty common. Unfortunately, I was dealing with a lot of stomach complications when I was coming back from Spring Break and it just so happens that I picked up some grapefruit as I was restocking my apartment. At the end of last week, I was talking to my mom and telling her that I was feeling so much better and she asked if I was eating anything different. At first I could not think of anything, but it soon came to me that I was consistently eating half of a grapefruit a day. So… first-hand account, keeping this fruit in your daily fruit intake can aide in any dietary-induced stomach sensitivities.

There are three more great benefits to grapefruit that can help by keeping your body clean and healthy.

  • Vitamin C: Grapefruit has a high content of Vitamin C, like oranges. Vitamin C boosts your immune system and aides in the growth, development, and repair of body tissue.
  • Fiber: Fiber is great because it helps keep your digestive system clean as well as helps the absorption of nutrients in your body.
  • Potassium: Potassium is an electrolyte that is important for the nerve and muscle contraction. It’s why people say to eat a banana if you have a muscle cramp, but eating grapefruit is also good.

FullSizeRender 2

Overall, I unknowingly entered this “Grapefruit Study” and found that including grapefruit into my daily diet is very important. I usually just eat half a grapefruit in the morning or evening with salt and pepper sprinkled on top (don’t knock it until you have tried it 😉 !! )

If you don’t like grapefruit, finding another fruit or veggie that aides in your health is an important part of taking care of your body.

I hope this blog post was helpful to everyone, and helped motivate you to find your soul fruit. I hope you all have an amazing week and I will talk to you all next week!

All the Best,

G

xx

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I never liked grapefruit as a child, I may have to try it again sounds like it has some amazing benefits! Could you please take a look at my page?❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! I never liked them either, but now I do 🙂 And of course, I will check out your page now! Followed!

      Like

Leave a Reply

